Jump to content
How to Delete Your Facebook Account
Submitted by adfm
Posted May 11 2010 02:58 PM
Do you want to delete your account from Facebook, but can't quite find the right button? In this simple how-to you'll learn the easy-to-remember way of deleting your account. No obscure URLs or complicated forms here. Just follow these seven easy steps and you'll permanently delete your Facebook account.
WARNING: You'll delete your account if you follow these steps. If you'd rather take a break from Facebook and come back to it without having to re-enter all your personal information, you can always just deactivate your account from the "Deactivate Account" section on the Account page.
Step 1: Click "Account" in the upper right corner of the page.
Step 2: Select "Help Center" from the menu.
Step 3: Search for "delete my account" in the Help Center
Step 4: Click on the FAQ that says "I want to permanently delete my account..."
Step 5: Click on the last link in the FAQ that says "here".
Step 6: Click the "Submit" button
Step 7: Enter Password and Security Check
Your account should now be deleted.
Be aware that this may not remove all of your personal information from the site.
ladair : May 27 2010 11:20 AM
Thanks Adam! Very helpful. I just used this info to delete an account, and in the end it takes 14 days after taking these steps. Here's the final note in the process:
Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, your account will be reactivated and you will have the option to cancel your request.
Alternative solution by Bright Choice
Posted Jul 08 2013 06:39 AM
first log in into your Facebook account.
then go to account setting, there you will see different options to delete your account like deactivate your account, delete your account permanently. if you want to delete your account permanently then go for "delete my account permanently", if you want to deactivate your account for few days then select " deactivate my account". by selecting "deactivate my account" your account will be deactivated till you try to log in again. and by selecting "delete my account permanently" your facebook account will be deleted permanently.