How to Keep Data Analysis Simple

ggiles2's Photo
Posted Nov 22 2010 01:56 PM

By Philipp Janert, author of Data Analysis with Open Source Tools (O'Reilly Media; $39.99 USD)
More data analysis efforts seem to go bad because of an excess of sophistication rather than a lack of it.
This may come as a surprise, but it has been my experience again and again. As a consultant, I am often called in when the initial project team has already gotten stuck. Rarely (if ever) does the problem turn out to be that the team did not have the required skills. On the contrary, I usually find that they tried to do something unnecessarily complicated and are now struggling with the consequences of their own invention!

Based on what I have seen, two particular risk areas stand out:

• The use of "statistical" concepts that are only partially understood--and given the relative obscurity of most of statistics, this includes virtually all statistical concepts; and

• Complicated--and expensive--black-box solutions when a simple and transparent approach would have worked at least as well or better.