Please Help with Basic Setup for Using QuickTime for Java

caradeoso123's Photo
Posted Jan 27 2011 11:29 PM

Hi,

I am not that new with Java programming, but I am new with dealing with third-party packages like the ones described in the setup included in O'Reilly's QuickTime for Java book, e.g., using Apache's Ant, or setting the classpath to the QTJava.zip file. I am also new with working with an IDE, e.g., Eclipse. I have only written code before using already included Java APIs, e.g., import java.io.*;. Plus until now, I had always used the Terminal in Mac OSX to compile and run programs.

Could anyone please help me out with these basic instructions to setup the classpath and the packages, so that I can actually focus on writing code? I apologize for my ignorance in regards to what I am assuming is considered general knowledge, but these things are my only problem; and they are only mentioned lightly in O'Reilly's book. On the other hand, I am actually pretty good at figuring out actual Java code.

A simple step-by-step example on how to setup Eclipse on Mac OSX 10.6.4, so that I could just make the following example code work, would go a long way for me.

I downloaded this code from O'Reilly's web page.
The "Code" folder includes:
build.xml
graphics (folder)
my.ant.properties.win
src (folder)

<code>
package com.oreilly.qtjnotebook.ch01;

import quicktime.QTSession;
import quicktime.util.QTBuild;

public class QTVersionCheck {

public static void main (String[] args){
try{
QTSession.open();
System.out.println("QT version: " +
QTSession.getMajorVersion() +
"." +
QTSession.getMinorVersion());
System.out.println("QT version: " +
QTBuild.getVersion() +
"." +
QTBuild.getSubVersion());
QTSession.close();
} catch (Exception e) {
e.printStackTrace();
}
}
}
</code>

Again, I am running Eclipse on Mac OSX 10.6.4