Installing Ruby 1.9 on a Debian or Ubuntu System

AdrienLamothe's Photo
Posted Aug 09 2011 01:57 PM

I recently wanted to migrate some Ruby on Rails applications from version 2 to 3. I also had for some time wanted to migrate from Ruby 1.8 to Ruby 1.9. Many people recommended using RVM to manage a multi-version Ruby environment, so I studied and installed RVM on one of my Debian servers. The experience was unsatisfactory. I'm not knocking RVM, many people use it successfully, but since it didn't work for me I decided the best course of action was to simply upgrade a development server to only Ruby 1.9, test my Rails apps there and when they all worked migrate them to my other systems after converting those systems to run only Ruby 1.9.

Why migrate to only Ruby 1.9?