How to Restrict Data Entry with Validation Rules in Excel

CurtFrye's Photo
Posted Sep 29 2009 09:35 AM

I'm a manager at an engineering company, and I hired an out-of-work political science major to do data entry and other clerical stuff. We don't pay him a lot, but our deal is that he gets to learn about computers on our dime when he's doing data entry. There's only one problem: he types so badly that he makes a ton of mistakes—adding extra numbers, leaving some out, even hitting letters instead of numbers. Isn't there some way Excel can flag a mistake before he enters the data?

The secret is using data validation. Click a cell (or a group of selected cells), and then turn on the validation feature by selecting Data Validation and clicking the Settings tab. From the Allow drop-down menu, pick the type of validation criteria you want to use, and then specify its parameters from the drop-down menus that appear below. The type of validation you select in the Allow drop down determines what other options appear below. If you select Whole number, for example, you can specify whether the entered values should be between two other values, not between two other values, or less than or greater than a value. You can hardcode the value by picking "equal to" from the Data drop-down menu and typing the value into the Value field. Figure 1 shows the types of criteria you can create.

Figure 1. Limiting your colleague's actions was never so easy.

Attached Image

For instance, if he's supposed to be typing in Zip Codes, and you want to make sure he doesn't leave out digits or add extra ones, set the Text length validation rule to require a number between 5 and 5. If he's supposed to enter 94607 and he types 9460 by mistake, he'll receive an error message reading "The value you entered is not valid."