Print XML Table with XSL

Philip F's Photo
Posted Sep 26 2012 12:00 PM

I apologize in advance if this is too simple, but I am not a programmer.

I am trying to display an XML file with XSL, the XML file is a list of groups and their subsequent users (the info displayed below is not everything, as there are 20+ addtl groups). The problem is that various groups have varying number of users. I can write a simple xsl statement to display the first user per group, but I don't know how to include all users.

The XML is:
<?xml-stylesheet type="text/xsl" href="groups.xsl" ?>
<GroupRecord>
<cn>Steering Committee</cn>
<UserList>
<uid>john</uid>
<uid>bob</uid>
</UserList>
</GroupRecord>
<GroupRecord>
<cn>Gentoo</cn>
<UserList>
<uid>mary</uid>
<uid>sam</uid>
<uid>mark</uid>
<uid>jennifer</uid>
</UserList>
</GroupRecord>

The XSL is:
<table width="100%" border="1">
<THEAD>
<TR>
<TD colspan="2" align="center">Users</TD>
</TR>
<TR>
<TD width="50%"><B>Group</B></TD>
<TD width="50%"><B>Users</B></TD>
</TR>
</THEAD>
<TBODY>
<xsl:for-each select="GroupRecord">
<TR>
<TD width="50%"><xsl:value-of select="cn" /></TD>
<TD width="50%"><xsl:value-of select="UserList/uid" /></TD>
</TR>
</xsl:for-each>
</TBODY>
</table>

The XML file will display the groups, and the first user per each group, but do I need to write a for-loop in Javascript to extract the other user data?

Thanks in advance

Tags:
0 Subscribe

5 Replies

+ 1
  mhalverson's Photo
Posted Sep 26 2012 03:23 PM

You can nest a second for-each loop to process all of the uid's. You will have to decide how you want to list them (for example separate TD's).

For example if you want to stay with your two column table and separate them by commas replace <xsl:value-of select="UserList/uid" /> with :

<xsl:for-each select="UserList/uid">
<xsl:sort select="."/>
<xsl:value-of select="."/>
<xsl:if test="not(position()=last())">,<xsl:text> </xsl:text></xsl:if>
</xsl:for-each>